When a User is removed from Centercode or they self-remove by triggering an Opt-Out, their various types of data and contributions to the system are handled in the following manner. Both processes are similar but with a few distinct variations -- particularly how the User's personally identifiable information (PII) is handled, and what happens to their existing unique identifiers / credentials.

Remove

  • All form data (Surveys, Feedback, Profiles, etc.) not marked as Personal Data is retained by the system. (See Notes below)
  • The user record is obscured and account data is removed allowing for their unique identifiers to be re-used by additional system Users at a later time.
  • Onboarding limits for that User are removed (thus an additional User can now follow any Onboarding that the removed User had utilized).
  • Report Distributions no longer go to the removed User.
  • Outstanding Password reset requests from before the removal will no longer allow site access. The removed User will be redirected to the login page instead.

Opt-Out

  • All form data (Surveys, Feedback, Profiles, etc.) not marked as Personal Data is retained by the system. (See Notes below)
  • The user record is obscured and account data is removed allowing for their unique identifiers to be re-used by additional system Users at a later time.
  • Onboarding Opportunity User limits for that User are removed (thus an additional User can now follow any Opportunity that the opt-out User had utilized).
  • Username is displayed as "Removed User" in place of the original Username in Tasks, Forums, and Wikis.
  • Report Distributions no longer go to the opt-out User.
  • Outstanding Password reset requests from before the opt-out will no longer allow site access. The opt-out User will be redirected to the login page instead.

Notes:

  • When user records are obscured, they're marked as "removed" or "opted-out" hiding them from front-end reporting, but their back-end account data is automatically purged from the database after 7 days - if you need to reinstate a user account, it must be done before this automation occurs.
  • While Survey data, along with User Profiles, Test Platforms, etc. are retained in the system, typical reporting functions do not include data from removed user accounts. Responses from users who are removed are flagged as removed. Thus, the data is retained in the system, but will not be represented in reports due to being considered "inactive."

Related Articles:

Did this answer your question?